JulietteWantyRobinSchmid_Screen_Conceptual_Crop1

Why Not Let a Room Divider Be the Biggest Statement in Your Home?

Once upon a time, in an era before HVAC, room dividers were used to prevent drafts in rooms where the windows had been flung open. Over the years, they’ve been used as privacy screens and dressing rooms, as freestanding walls to divide loftlike apartments, as backdrops for a tea ceremonies, and so much more. But what if we just decided that room dividers didn’t need to be anything but themselves? That seems to be the thinking behind the latest crop — that the divider is more akin to an artwork than a functional piece of furniture, and, as such, can be used as a giant canvas on which to explore experimental ideas about materiality, form, optical illusions, and more.

We started to really understand that the room divider was the hot new form in design back in Milan, when we snapshotted hand-embroidered examples by Apparatus in their showroom, modern marquetry screens by Cristina Celestino in a pastry shop, and even a more straightforward take by Ron Gilad for Magis, in which each panel can swing 360 degrees to allow for more or less privacy. But our favorites among these are the ones that really go big (and by big please understand that this is only nominally a “shopping column” since some of these cost upwards of $20,000) — Juliette Wanty and Robin Schmid’s cobalt blue angled fringe, Andy & Dave’s trompe l’oeil hand, Dimore Studio’s oxidized diamond panels. The time is ripe for experimentation.

JulietteWantyRobinSchmid_Screen_SemiStyled1

Diagonal Divider by Juliette Wanty & Robin Schmid, juliettewanty.com

Arflex Vela

Vela Room Divider by Bernhardt for Arflex, mattermatters.com

DIMORESTUDIO_PROGETTONONFINITO_PARAVENTO-070-SPECIAL-EDITION-1-1400x933

Paravento 070 Special Edition by Dimore Studio, thefutureperfect.com

Guglielmo Poletti_Equilibrium Space Divider_RO_01

Equilibrium Space Divider by Guglielmo Poletti, guglielmopoletti.com

Andy and Dave 1

Wanna Go There! Partition by Andy and Dave, friedmanbenda.com

hypnosis1

Hypnosis Screen by Erich Ginder, 1stdibs.com

BigeleisenBukowski_DazzleScreen1

Dazzle Screen by Steven Bukowski and Hannah Bigeleisen, stevenbukowski.com

DAWN Exhibition 2019_Justyna Poplowska_2

Screen by Justyna Poplawska, justynapoplawska.com

Melonskin-divider-set-photo-by-REMatelier

Melon Skin Room Divider by Rematelier, rematelier.nl

Dante Goods and Bads 3

Minima Moralia Room Divider by Dante Goods & Bads, store.wallpaper.com

GIACOPINI_DEJA_VU_MM_Melon_img1

Déjà-Vu Divider by Giocopini Design, giocopini.design

Giancarlo Valle x Viso Giancarlo Valle

Tapestry Room Screen by VISO x Giancarlo Valle, visoproject.com

Hi-Thanks-Bye_Collection-0-2

UO Divider by Hi Thanks Bye, hithanksbye.com

Bouroullec

Rayures Screen by Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec for Glas Italia, suiteny.com

720f6aee949ee56a994109b27c2d75c2

Golden Eye Screen by Munna, propertyfurniture.com

b_PAINTING-DE-CASTELLI-400813-rel9e2eac70

Painting Screen by Alessandra Baldereschi for De Castelli, decastelli.comLizCollins_LC16620

Screen by Liz Collins, lizcollins.com

11814313_master

Prairie Room Divider by New Format Studio, 1stdibs.com

Carlo Donati

Shade Flexion by Carlo Donati and Marco Petrus, carlodonati.it

Ron Gilad_Magis_SwingScreen

Swing Screen by Ron Gilad for Magis, archiproducts.com

Cb2

Fan Natural Rattan Room Divider, cb2.com

Diva_Room_Divider_diva_04_ML-08-2019_1500x1000_c

Diva Screen by Arflex, thefutureperfect.com

DIMORESTUDIO_PROGETTONONFINITO_PARAVENTO-067-1-1400x933

Paravento 056 by Dimore Studio, thefutureperfect.com

Separe 6

Separé Room Divider by Kabinet, 1stdibs.com

Kam ce Kam_DIVAAR

Divaar Screen by Kam Ce Kam, @kamcecam

Orior Showroom 5 Orior_HEX_PARAVENT

Hex Screen by Orior, oriorfurniture.com

APPARATUS - INTERLUDE - HAND EMBROIDERED SCREEN - WHITE FULL WEB

Interlude Hand-Embroidered Screen by Apparatus, apparatusstudio.com

ChristopheDelcourt_AvenueRoad

Pak by Christophe Delcourt for Avenue Road, us.avenue-road.com

Garance Vallee 2

Screen by Garance Vallée, @royalgarance

Lucia Massari

Screen by Lucia Massari, luciamassari.com

MAISON LACROIX_PARAVENT_1

Paravent by Maison Lacroix for Roche Bobois, roche-bobois.com